Welcome to Human Resources. This page will provide you with information related to your employment with the District. Please take a moment to review this information carefully and contact us with any questions or comments at (734) 697-1009.
At Will Employment:
Except as otherwise provided by an employee’s collective bargaining agreement, or individual contract; employment between an employee and the Van Buren Public School District is on an at-will basis. This means that the employee is free to resign his/her employment at any time, for any reason, and the Van Buren Public Schools retains that same right. No individual supervisor, manager or officer can make a contrary agreement, except for the Superintendent, and even then such an agreement must be set forth in a written employment contract with the employee, signed by the Superintendent.
Board Policies and Regulations:
All employees of the Van Buren Public are required to abide by the policies and regulations of the Board of Education. Copies of these policies and regulations are kept in the main office of the Administration Offices. They will also soon be located on our District website.
Also, please review your employee handbook. If you have lost yours or need new copies, please notify HR at 734-697-9123 x1009.
Degree Change Form for VBEA:
Request for Change to appropriate salary lane for teachers must be accompanied by original transcript showing the Degree conferred and date conferred. Neither diplomas, nor letters indicating coursework completed will suffice. For lane change to take effect for the first semester, transcripts must be received no later than October 15. For lane change effective for second semester, transcripts must be received no later than February 15.
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA):
FMLA requires Van Buren Public School District to provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid or paid, job-protected leave to eligible employees for certain family and medical reasons. Employees are eligible if they have worked for Van Buren Public Schools for at least one (1) year and for 1,250 hours over the previous 12 months. The method used for calculations is a “rolling” 12-month period measured backward from the date an employee uses any FMLA leave. The FMLA leave begins on the employee’s first day off work. The complete FMLA regulations are located in all buildings and copies can be obtained from the Human Resources office. FMLA FAQ’s
Effective January 1, 2006, the State of Michigan mandated that fingerprints and criminal background checks be secured for all current and new employees of Michigan Public Schools. Schools must secure fingerprints and request criminal background checks for all covered individuals on or before July 1, 2008. Schools are prohibited from allowing covered individuals who are convicted of “listed offenses” to work under contract in any school. Please contact the HR office for information regarding scheduling a fingerprint check. Download Fingerprint Form.
The work and learning environment should be professional and free from intimidation, hostility or other offenses that might interfere with work performance. Harassment of any sort – verbal, sexual, physical – will not be tolerated. HR will continue to provide annual training to all employees on various harassment policies including workplace, sexual and fair treatment.
Leaves of Absence:
All leaves of absence, whether paid or unpaid, must be requested in writing and responded to in writing. It is the obligation of the employee to keep Human Resources apprised of contact information (address and phone number) while the employee is on a leave. Failure to report back to work on the first day after expiration of the leave of absence will be considered a voluntary termination of employment.
School Safety Law:
On January 1, 2006, all Michigan School Districts must comply with a series of Public Acts related to school safety (2005 PA 129-131 and 138). Commencing January 1, 2006, all employees, new and current will be required to have a criminal history record check conducted by the Michigan State Police (MSP) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The new law also requires you, as an employee of the district/school to self-report to your employer and the Michigan Department of Education when you have been arraigned/charged with a crime. You must do so within three (3) business days or you will be guilty of an additional crime. Employees will report this information to Shonta Langford-Green, Director of Human Resources.
Non-paid volunteers do not need to be fingerprinted, but do need to complete a criminal background check release form with each individual school building. Contact the school’s office or website to secure these forms. The completed form is to be returned to the main office at the school building.
Updating Teacher Certification:
It is the teacher’s responsibility to keep certification up to date. Click here for instructions on how to renew your certificate. You may also contact the Michigan Department of Education. To check on the status of your certification, click here.
Workers’ Compensation is the system used to provide wage replacement, medical and rehabilitation benefits to men and women who are injured at work. Report an injury to your supervisor immediately. If medical treatment is needed, an Authorization for Treatment form must be obtained from Human Resources office. In case of emergency, the HR department will fax a form to the clinic. All injuries must be reported to HR within three days of the accident.
To change your address, phone number, emergency contact information, marital status, and/or name change, please complete this form and provide the necessary documentation (if applicable) and submit to Nicole Beckham.